Just a Little Bit About Me…

Photo on 11-29-12 at 8.06 PM

Hello, everyone.

My name is Chinwe A. Onuoha and I am a senior at Rutgers University in Newark. I am aspiring to become a medical journalist and a physician -kind of like Sanjay Gupta. I realized that I was passionate about medicine when I attended the Summer Medical and Dental Education Program (SMDEP) at the University of Virginia in 2011. Being a part of that six week enrichment program helped me see that I had the capabilities to become a doctor. Prior to attending SMDEP I was fixated on becoming a journalist. My plans were to travel all over the world and write articles on social issues that aren’t shown on mainstream news outlets. But, after I attended SMDEP I realized that I could integrate both fields of study. By doing that I plan to help improve the lives of many, while educating people about the poor healthcare issues that are prevalent around the world.

Leave a Reply

