BARBARA KRUGER MEETS INSTAGRAM

BY JANNEL VARONA

image020

Barbara Kruger used this image above to comment on ideological assumptions about Western science. I placed my project within a critical context of our class by using Kruger’s ideas and techniques and commenting on advertisements that objectify women. For my final project, I made an Instagram! I will be using found art typography to dictate the meaning of the image and provoke the viewer to look at the image differently, just like Kruger did.

Screen Shot 2014-03-25 at 10.13.06 AM

The idea of Instagram was inspired by another Instagram I followed called @kalen_hollomon. He also uses cut out photography and places cut outs from magazine to an actual place or person. I think the concept of re-creating an image or an advertisement is both clever and entertaining. This Instagram gained so much attention, it even attracted Vogue Magazine! They started using his work on all of their social media, especially during New York Fashion Week.

Screen Shot 2014-03-25 at 10.13.26 AM

#CUTOUTPHOTOGRAPHY

This is my very first post on my Instagram. I saw a sign near the Path trains that said, “Sometimes a bag isn’t just a bag” and I thought it would be perfect to attach the image of a Marc Jacobs ad with women’s legs hanging out of it to recreate the meaning of both the text and the ad.

So far, I only have 20 followers and I only have one post. That is because I find it difficult to find found art typography to dictate the image. Perhaps, I will start to just attach text and typography that I create myself rather than found text in future posts.

Bibliography:

1) “Viewers Make Meaning.” Viewers Make Meaning: 55.

2) Instagram.com

Leave a Reply

