Tumblr…is evil

Tumblr is a blogging platform but quite honestly, not literal blogging gets done on Tumblr. While most blog sites originated as a means for people to rant about their nonsensical lives, talk about their likes and dislikes in entertainment media, or even give their views on news media while also linking and citing that original news media, Tumblr has taken that original platform and has made it so stupid that it shouldn’t even be considered a blogging or even a micro blogging site. I’ll call Tumblr what it truly is. Just. Plain. Stupid. Here’s why. I have a Tumblr. I actually have two. One Tumblr account hosts my short experimental films and videos, as I am an amateur filmmaker I want to get noticed and what better place to get noticed than on a site that has literally millions upon millions of users? Right? WRONG! My second Tumblr account emulates what most Tumblr accounts are. Mindless garbage. I reblog posts about cats and dogs, naked women, sex, food, clothes, movies, and other peoples opinions on things they don’t really understand. The worst thing is, my reblogs of all this mindless dribble gets more attention than the pieces of video art and films that I create and put on. My most popular post is a video gif set of Chef Gordon Ramsay knocking another person’s cooking, as he does. That post has about 65,000+ notes, most of which are reblogs. So something I create gets less attention than something that everyone already likes. Mindless dribble gets more attention than video based artwork that would ask the viewers to think a little. That’s why Tumblr is stupid. That’s why it’s making us stupid, because it doesn’t want people to think. Take a look at this demographic of who uses Tumblr based on a study done in 2011. Most are teenagers and young adults in their 20s. That’s our future y’all; the future of this country and the future of this world. Considering the amount of users that Tumblr gets, millions of our future generations are getting stupider and stupider because of sites like Tumblr. Tumblr is not a blogging site. It’s a way for people to speak in hindsight and talk about things and issues they don’t really know about. In his 2008 book, Here Comes Everybody, Clay Shirky states “When we change the way we communicate. We change society.” Well in a world where our communication relies so heavily on websites and social media, we can only imagine what kind of society we’re heading into, especially when millions of users on Tumblr live by what they read on their site. Posts that are clearly wrong get thousands of millions of notes, likes and reblogs. But if you argue against it, more often than not a Tumblr user will parade you with insults about why you’re wrong. Unfortunately guys like Clay Shirky and George Orwell had the right idea when they wrote their own individual books. Only problem is, why read a few hundred page book that’s going to open your eyes on the stupidity of the Tumblr society we live in, when you can watch a video gif on Tumblr about cats and then reblog it for your own followers to watch? As you can see, most of the Tumblr users online range from age 12-34. That’s most of the people reading this, that’s kids in high school, and that’s kids in the 8th grade.  That’s a wide age range of manipulation on the part of Tumblr. We all know kids today are easily manipulated online, they are extremely impressionable, and unfortunately they do a lot of what they do online for the acceptance of their peers. What’s worse it that they grow into this mentality and it affects us in a large way. http://www.putthatshitonthelist.com/2011/11/why-tumblr-is-making-us-all-stupid.html “No argument must lead you astray. Never listen when they tell you that Man and the animals have a common interest, that the prosperity of the one is the prosperity of the others. It is all lies.” This quote from Animal Farm is a perfect example on the mentality of most Tumblr users. If you don’t agree with Tumblr or you go out of your way to call them out on some of the BS they spew which gets thousands of people to reblog it, you’re well on your way of getting verbally assaulted by the social justice police of the Internet. SO if Tumblr allows people to say what they want, when they want, I can say this right? Screen Shot 2014-04-29 at 10.55.11 AM Hell No! I was attacked via private messages by the social justice police.  They target my name, my ethnicity, my looks. They called me stupid. Here’s my favorite reply to the above picture:

“People like you are the reason that kids kill themselves. People like you are the reason I have scars on my wrists. Because you’re a fucking prick who gains self esteem by tearing down others’. Open your eyes and look to others in need, or else you’re gonna be pretty fucking lonely in your “pro-bullying” life. asshole.”

I’m not lonely. I have friends and family that love me. Was I bullied when I was young, yes. I have the marking to prove it. I complained to adult who did nothing to help me. So I grew a backbone and fought back. I have the markings to prove that too. As an older brother to two young men, I taught my brothers that most people will stand and watch as you get your ass beat. I told them not to be like me, I told them to fight back when need be. I learned that in Junior year of high school. That’s when my bullying issues ended. I taught my brothers this while they were in grade school. They have yet to come to me our my mother about bullying issues. Now my verbal assailant here is a mere 19 years old. I’ve got four years on her. She’s actually the same age as my younger brother. Now while I understand that bullying is an issue, I rose against it. I don’t hate it, I actually value what bullying is. I mean we’re the bully nation of the world. Bullying made me the guy before you. Asshole, sure. Likeable, absolutely. So in the end, I learned that if you don’t agree with Tumblr, you don’t have the right to be on it. Tumblr is a community with one mind, and those that disagree can blow it out their ass. And if you’re lucky like me, some teenager will attack you because you have an opinion that isn’t there.   Here’s a video explaining.   https://vimeo.com/93267209

Works Cited

  1. Orwell, George, and Erich Fromm. 1984: A Novel. New York, NY: Signet Classic, 1961. Print.
  2. Orwell, George. Animal Farm. New York: Harcourt, Brace, 1954. Print.
  3. Shirky, Clay. Here Comes Everybody: The Power of Organizing without Organizations. New York: Penguin, 2008. Print.
  4. Shirky, Clay. “Clay Shirky Quotes.” Clay Shirky Quotes (Author of Here Comes Everybody). Goodreads, n.d. Web. 25 Apr. 2014. <https://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/442126.Clay_Shirky&gt;.
  5. O’Neil, Luke. “PTSOTL: Why Tumblr Is Making Us All Stupid ))((.” PTSOTL: Why Tumblr Is Making Us All Stupid ))((. PTSOTL, 30 Nov. 2011. Web. 27 Apr. 2014. <http://www.putthatshitonthelist.com/2011/11/why-tumblr-is-making-us-all-stupid.html&gt;.
  6. http://ihatetumblr.tumblr.com/
Leave a Reply

